Français English
Trophy for Innovation 2014

World Innovation Day

MetalSkin: an all-purpose antibacterial alloy at an affordable price

MetalSkin Medical® reacts exactly like copper and is backed by several clinical tests. Having now obtained its patent, the effectiveness of the solution should be supported by a scientific community.
In addition to its antibacterial properties, MetalSkin Medical®  is a dark grey alloy with a simple design that can be used not only in medical establishments, but also in hospitality, or even for interior design. A version made of 99.9% pure copper has been developed for underwater applications and for hydrocarbon environments. The release of copper ions affects the respiratory system of micro-organisms that try to settle on the treated surface.
More...

M300 antifouling

Applicable to all types of surfaces and materials, the MetalSkin Medical® composite blends perfectly with the interior design of a house (switches, handles or other contact surfaces) and serves as an effective tool against bacteria.
The clinical study conducted by MetalSkin Medical® shows how it can curb bacterial proliferation. Moreover, an overall reduction in the number of bacteria is also witnessed over this period. These in-vivo measures have been verified via in-vitro experiments. For example, Escheria Coli, the bacteria responsible for gastroenteritis, was exposed to MetalSkin Medical®.

9000 CFU was applied to a surface coated with the MetalSkin Medical® composite and the same amount was applied to a smooth and frequently used plastic material.

At the end of an hour, the following were measured:


After 1 and a half hours, the following values were obtained respectively:

It therefore involves a self-sustaining decontamination process that ensures the extraordinarily rapid destruction and non-proliferation of bacteria. In particular, the MetalSkin Medical®  technology is meant for public places where viruses spread easily: hospitals, childcare centres, extended-day programmes, schools, public transport, office buildings and all communities.

MetalSkin Medical® has been integrated in the construction of the new clinic, St Roch, in Montpellier (Oc Sante Group with 235 rooms), the first in the world to incorporate it, thanks to the economic relevance of the MetalSkin Medical® solution: the equipment of all contact elements in a healthcare institution.


Our publications

antimicrobial copper

Press releases

Scientific publications

Coming soon

Winner of the Innovation Trophy Prize at the Salon Santé et Autonomie 2014 in Paris

Innovation Trophy 2014Organised as part of the Salon Santé et Autonomie, the Innovation Trophies are awarded every year for innovative services, products or solutions, which contribute to modernising healthcare systems and organisations. The theme for the Innovation Trophies 2014 was “innovation in the health service”: Which innovation and for what purpose?” Out of the 24 candidates nominated in April 2014 based on 50 initial reports, the judging panel, which was chaired by Jacques Lewiner, announced 8 prize winners. In the category of healthcare safety, Meto & Co MetalSkin medical won the prize for “a composite coating with a very high content of copper. A very simple solution to effectively curb the growth of bacteria”. More...

antimicrobial copper

antimicrobial copper
antimicrobial copper

Who are we?

The MetalSkin Medical® evolution – The first alternative to solid copper made in France.
Copper is a unique metal known for its exceptional, self-sustaining, antibacterial properties. Its applications have multiplied over the years in different sectors, especially in the medical sector.

The only drawback? Its price. Based on this observation, the French company, Meto&Co developed MetalSkin Medical®, the only effective alternative to solid copper, having the same antibacterial properties as copper and costing 5 to 20 times less than copper!

An innovative company with a strong potential for international development

Supported by a team of investors and experienced entrepreneurs, and based on its expertise in metal plating; Stephane Penari, founder of Meto&Co, devised MetalSkin Medical®: a ground-breaking composite capable of replacing solid copper.
The universality of solution, its antibacterial properties and especially its reduced cost as compared to that of solid copper have stimulated interest among several entities involved in the medical sector in France and abroad.

Several global-scale manufacturers have shown keen interest in the MetalSkin Medical® solution, which helps them acquire a self-sustaining antibacterial technology that is highly advanced and, more importantly, affordable.
Thanks to an intense R&D effort, its technical expertise, its extensive network of manufacturing partners (business patents) and a considerable amount of economical potential (the health market covering childcare centres and EPHAD in France is estimated at 300 million Euros), the development prospects are very significant.

An eco-friendly solution that has already been approved by the experts

Since its inception, the MetalSkin Medical® team has given a lot of importance to environmental compliance.

The design is resolutely eco-friendly and the composite production is in the process of certification for setting up a strict policy and avoiding any risk of pollution.
Already acknowledged by the scientific committees, MetalSkin Medical® also received the Hopital Expo 2014 Innovation prize at Paris and was a finalist in the World Innovation Days for Health 2014 (WID4H) at Geneva.


World Innovation Day


Our videos

Français English
Trophée de l'innovation 2014

World Innovation Day

MetalSkin : un alliage antibactérien, universel et surtout accessible

Réagissant exactement à l’identique du cuivre, MetalSkin Medical® a été précédé de nombreux tests cliniques. Aujourd’hui brevetée, l’efficacité de la solution doit faire l’objet d’un soutien par un comité scientifique.
Au-delà de ses propriétés bactériennes, MetalSkin Medical® est un alliage de couleur gris sombre, possédant un design épuré et permettant son utilisation non seulement dans les établissements médicaux mais aussi dans les domaines de l’hôtellerie, ou encore de la décoration. Une variante en cuivre pur à 99,9% a été développée pour des applications sous marines ou en milieu hydrocarbure. La libération d'ions de cuivre empêche le fonctionnement des mécanismes respiratoires des micro-organismes qui tentent de se fixer sur la surface traitée.
En savoir plus...

M300 anti-fouling

Applicable sur tous les types de surfaces et matériaux, le composite MetalSkin Medical® s’intègre également parfaitement dans la décoration d’une maison (interrupteurs, poignées ou autres surfaces de contact) et sert de véritable arme active contre les bactéries.
L'étude clinique menée par MetalSkin Medical® démontre que la prolifération bactérienne est stoppée par son action et, Par ailleurs, sur la durée, une réduction globale du nombre de bactéries est constatée. Ces mesures in vivo sont corroborées par l’expérimentation in vitro. Escheria Coli par exemple, la bactérie responsable de la gastro-entérite, a été exposée à MetalSkin Medical®.

9000 UFC ont été déposées sur une surface revêtue du composite MetalSkin Medical® et le même nombre sur une matière plastique lisse et couramment utilisée.

Au bout d’une heure, les décomptes ont été les suivants :


A échéance 1h30, les valeurs sont respectivement de :

Il s’agit donc d’un procédé de décontamination autonome qui assure la destruction extrêmement rapide et la non-prolifération des bactéries. Ainsi, la technologie MetalSkin Medical® vise particulièrement les endroits publics où les virus se propagent très facilement : les milieux hospitaliers, les crèches, les accueils périscolaires, les écoles, les transports publics, les immeubles de bureaux et toutes les collectivités.

MetalSkin Medical® est intégré dans le processus de réalisation de la nouvelle clinique St Roch à Montpellier (Groupe Oc Santé avec 235 chambres) où une première mondiale est en passe d’être réalisée grâce à la pertinence économique de la solution MetalSkin Medical® : l’équipement de tous les éléments de contact d’un établissement de santé.


Nos publications

cuivre antibactérien

Articles de presse

Publications scientifiques

À venir

Prix des Trophées de l’innovation lors du salon de la Santé et de l’Autonomie 2014 à Paris

Trophée de l'innovation 2014Organisés dans le cadre des salons de la Santé et de l’Autonomie, les Trophées de l’innovation récompensent chaque année des solutions, produits ou services innovants qui contribuent à la modernisation des organisations et des systèmes de santé. Le thème des Trophées de l’Innovation 2014 portait sur « l’innovation au service de la santé : Quelle innovation pour quel bénéfice ? ». Parmi les 24 candidats nominés en avril 2014 sur 50 dossiers initiaux, le jury, présidé par Jacques Lewiner a distingué 8 lauréats. Dans la catégorie sécurité des soins Meto &Co MetalSkin medical a été lauréat avec « un revêtement composite à très forte teneur en cuivre. Une solution très simple pour limiter efficacement les bactéries ». En savoir plus...

cuivre anti-bactérien

cuivre anti-bactérien
cuivre anti-bactérien

Qui sommes-nous ?

La révolution MetalSkin Medical® - La première alternative au cuivre massif made in France.
Le cuivre est un métal unique, reconnu pour ses propriétés antibactériennes autonomes exceptionnelles. Ses applications se sont multipliées au fil des années dans les différents secteurs, notamment le secteur médical.

Le seul bémol ? Son prix. Fort de ce constat, l'entreprise française Meto&Co a développé MetalSkin Medical®, seule alternative efficace au cuivre massif disposant des mêmes propriétés antibactériennes que le cuivre, pour un prix de 5 à 20 fois moins important.

Entreprise innovante à fort potentiel de développement international

Soutenu par une équipe d’investisseurs et d’entrepreneurs expérimentés, et fort de son expertise dans la métallisation, Stéphane Pénari, fondateur de Meto&Co, a conçu MetalSkin Medical® : un composite révolutionnaire capable de remplacer le cuivre massif.
L’universalité de la solution, ses propriétés antibactériennes et surtout son coût réduit comparé à celui du cuivre massif ont suscité l’intérêt de nombreux acteurs du secteur médical, aussi bien en France qu’à l’étranger.

Plusieurs industriels d’envergure mondiale ont d’ailleurs montré un vif intérêt pour la solution MetalSkin Medical® qui leur permet d’acquérir une technologie antibactérienne autonome très poussée et surtout accessible.
Grâce à un effort de R&D très intense, son savoir-faire technique, son réseau important de partenaires industriels (brevets d’exploitation) et un potentiel économique de taille (le marché sanitaire englobant les crèches et EPHAD en France est estimé à 300 millions d’euros), les perspectives de développement sont très importantes.

Une solution éco-friendly déjà reconnue par les experts

Dès le début de l’aventure, l’équipe de MetalSkin Medical® a attaché beaucoup d’importance au respect de l’environnement.

Résolument eco-friendly dans sa conception, la fabrication du composite est en cours de certification afin de mettre en place une politique rigoureuse et d’écarter tout risque de pollution.
Déjà reconnu par des comités scientifiques, MetalSkin Medical® a également reçu le prix de l'innovation Hôpital Expo 2014 à Paris et a été finaliste des World Innovation Days For Health 2014 (WID4H) à Genève.


World Innovation Day


Nos vidéos